Here Today, Gone Tomorrow


Kotaku(Mike Fahey) – In today’s Speak Up on Kotaku, commenter Kain’s Legacy asks a poignant question: Why do we invest so much time in massively multiplayer online games that will one day cease to be?

I was reading the article about the Lineage servers closing and it just got me thinking. I’ve thought about his before, but I thought this was a good time to bring it up. This is why I don’t understand MMO’s.

I’m not attacking anyone. Just expressing my opinion and I would love to hear the opposite’s point of view. But the way I see it, why waste money on MMO’s? You don’t actually own the game because you have to keep paying monthly in order to keep playing; you’re practically just renting the game every month. Which also makes buying the game at the store at retail price a rip-off.

I would understand paying a monthly fee if you didn’t have to pay for the initial game, which would work as a download, or if they have to sell it at the store, at least sell it for the same price as the subscription fee. $50-60 doesn’t sound like a fair price for a free month.

Then you have this sort of thing happen where the servers go offline eventually, then you can never play the game again. There are a few MMO’s I want to try out, but just don’t see how it’s worth, pay full price for the game, plus subscription, and then go through a server shut down, thus having a game you can’t use.

Like I said, I’m not telling you what you should or shouldn’t do with your money or anything like that; I’m not attacking anyone. That’s just how I see it, and I would love to hear your views, so don’t go crucifying me.

Source: 1

Leave a Reply

