Taking a Deeper Look at League of Legends Gameplay


2081362-volibear_splash_1

To start I would like to talk about bans and their purpose. Sometimes people will ban according to their counters. This is fine, as long as you ban the essential champions. Certain champions have a very dominant presence in pvp solo queue. Examples would be: Malphite, Shen, Blitzcrank, Akali, amumu, and thresh to name a few. It’s good to remove the most game changing champions. Blitz is the best example of that. He will destroy a unwary adc or support. So it is best to remove him. Also amumu, while his overall fighting presence is weak, but he creates plays out of little. So get him out of the game for start.

Choosing a champion, a lot of people will argue that every champion has a counter, and that if you pick the counter it changes the game. This is not always so true, for instance. I played akali mid against nidalee. Akali is a supposed counter to Nidalee. This is true to an extent, early game she can really poke you out of lane. You have to really play safe till 6 and then turn the table. Which I did, it was a good plan and would have worked, but we lost bottom and top super fast and I never got to see it play out cause they shut down our adc and I could only snowball so much. Pick a champion you know best, sure if you go into ranked with 1 mid champion then you are screwed, but if you have 2 or 3 champions per lane you are fine. Choose someone who will compete well against the competition. Example: Don’t play vayne against caitlyn unless you take a chance early and try for a kill. Caitlyn players are know for their aggressiveness and lack of passive use. They will use headshot 9/10 times on a minion and they never shoot from grass. So they really play their champion to half her potential. Of course Caitlyn is a champion who can hold her own even with a pretty bad player, just don’t let her beat you back. Force her to play defensive and lock her down with support.

Warding is a dying art in normal queue, people will play without a ward and blame jungle for getting ganked. Maybe buy a ward Eisenstein and then you can see the gank before it happens. Should be a common sense idea, but league players have proven to me they have rocks in their heads.

Top lane is another annoying thing. You always have 2 kinds of top lane players, the overly aggressive one and the hide under  turret and not CS one. Both are a waste of time in my opinion. They also love to play without a ward and wonder why they die over and over. When I play top I play smart and I take an aggressive stance when jungle is visible on a lane.

Map awareness! It called a mini map and it tells you what is going on around the map. It also alerts you to how your team is doing and where you can capitalize. Has everyone not seen a mid gank, it is really a good way to get a kill for you top or adc and it turns your team into a well oiled machine.

Last rant is a good one. It is called split pushing and it happens in every match I play. What you do is, you send a teammate up to top or bottom to push a lane while the rest of the team distracts them. I have won matches using a back door idea. I mean my team was top and I was mid pushing the second tower. Checking the mini map I saw all 5 were on top trying to stop the tower push. I then followed that up with a base tower and inhibitor. They never tried to stop me. I then went to bottom and pushed the tower and inhibitor. They finally realized I was using a back door tactic to win but it was too late. They surrendered right after. My advice is to practice split pushing it will help you win matches and learn map awareness.

Leave a Reply

